Friendlier Skies Needed! Have Your Members of Congress Signed the Letter?

February 7, 2014

It has been nearly two years since a groundbreaking provision to support musicians was signed into law, but the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has failed to implement the new policies to improve air travel with musical instruments in-cabin. The music community - including a close advocacy partnership between the League of American Orchestras and the American Federation of Musicians - has consistently called on the FAA to complete the rule-making process that it has yet to even begin. Now, Congress is stepping in to tell the FAA to take action immediately.

Contact your Senators and Representative right away and ask them to add their names to the bipartisan, bicameral letter from the Hill to the FAA.  Please act fast! The letter closes for signatures at noon Eastern on Tuesday, February 11. We’ve set up an online communication that will take just moments for you to personalize and send.

Click here to contact your Members of Congress TODAY

The list of those that have already signed on is below and growing.  We are grateful to Congressional Arts Caucus Co-Chairs Louise Slaughter (D-NY) and Leonard Lance (R-NJ), and Reps. Jim Cooper (D-TN), Howard Coble (R-NC), and Jerrold Nadler (D-NY), for their extraordinary leadership on this effort. Ask Congress to send a clear message to the FAA – it’s time to protect musical instruments from harm in-flight.

Thank you!

Signatures to the Letter as of February 6, 2014:

Rep. Tony Cardenas (D-CA)

Rep. Scott Peters (D-CA)

Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)

Rep. Alcee Hastings (D-FL)

Rep. Andre Carson (D-IN)

Rep. Michael Michaud (D-ME)

Rep. Collin Peterson (D-MN)

Rep. William “Lacy” Clay (D-MO)

Rep. Billy Long (R-MO)

Rep. Lee Terry (R-NE)

Rep. Leonard Lance (R-NJ)

Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)

Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)

Rep. Louise M. Slaughter (D-NY)

Rep. Howard Coble (R-NC)

Rep. Glenn “GT” Thompson (R-PA)

Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-TN)

Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)

Rep. Steve Cohen (D-TN)

Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN)

Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-TX)

Rep. Marc Veasey (D-TX)

Rep. Roger Williams (R-TX)

Rep. Donna M. Christensen (D-Virgin Islands)

Rep. Jim Moran (D-VA)